Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  Home Our Website HelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Print
COMPLETE NEWBIE NEEDS ISDN HELP (Read 6462 times)
Oct 20th, 2007 at 12:11pm
cmma01   Ex Member

After years of encouragement from others, but little available time, I have recently started up as a voiceover artist.  My mentor told me that VOAs work mostly with mp3s nowadays and that no-one uses ISDN much for this kind of work anymore.

Currently I am recording auditions digitally - 96kHz 16 bit wavs and converting to mp3 for emailing from my PC.  So far, so good.

So to my first job offer - guess what - it was a request for ISDN transmission!  I can't now do this job without hiring outside studio time, so am now planning for the future. 

I know nothing about using the ISDN system.  I have just read the beginners section on this site and now know far more, but what I need is some really really really basic stuff.  I know I will look like a complete idiot, but hey - I just want to learn, and quick!

I have found a second hand excellent condition MUSICAM PRIMA LT Codec and thought I might invest in it as I build up my equipment stock.  Should I, or is this an obsolete model?

So here are my idiot questions . . . please bear in mind that as I don't yet own a unit, I don't have an instruction book to give me any answers (even when I do, it will be written in a "we assume that you already have some technical knowledge" fashion!  Undecided )

1)  I'm assuming that an ISDN line allows for real time recording at the receiver's end (as I speak, they record).  Is that correct?

2)  Can they communicate with me while I am reading the script (much as would happen in a recording studio).  If so, how does this work?  Do I hear them through headphones while they hear what I say through the mic?